001

At Gembrook Retreat Centre for a silent, contemplative retreat using 7 Sacred Pauses [by Macrina Weiderkehr – this text will be used throughout the weekend  as a framework for following a monastic rhythm of prayer] – greedy and grasping I have reached for my new journal “making space” despite the sheets remaining for Teresa… I will come back to you Teresa! …but I wanted all of ‘this’, whatever it is, to be in one place and I wanted this clear window of time to feel like a fresh start.

In our pre-sharing there has been an emphasis on soul over mind and body, and moving away from words… I want to encounter You with my mind and body, AND my soul.. You know I want to encounter You with words! I don’t know that I was ‘good’ at the shared silence this evening.  Is that a discipline to cultivate?  Perhaps I am a kinesthetic listener?  We each of us want to seek after You… be found by You.  I don’t know if that language is necessarily helpful as You are with me always, it is only that other tasks and work and expectations lead me to spend time elsewhere – the coming together, or encounter, is about re-focusing my lens on You.  You know all the things I have in me and with me to do… let me offer them all to use or discard as You see fit.

  • Leunig talk
  • sustainability report
  • the very trees will speak Your name! (As You Like It)
  • photography
  • writing up previous blog posts
  • reflections on the Teresa content

…I wish I had a week, a month, a lifetime to give over to doing as I felt led.  Does anyone really get to do that?

…I am torn between ruefully laughing at how much I clearly didn’t get the living simply component of this weekend and wondering how much it matters to You.  Would eating or not eating draw me nearer to You? Travelling more lightly make it easier to reach You?  I think I find You where I look for You basically – is that too simplistic?  You are everywhere and the Creator of everything so it doesn’t matter if I am lying on a blanket on the grass in the sun, reading the wisdom of the saints, or drawing, or writing, or eating… You provide all things and You are in all things.  I need only be present to contemplate You and Your forms.

We have started off with the  Night prayers:

[p.168] “I yearn to be held in the great hands of your heart – oh let them take me now. Into them I place the fragments, my life, and you, God – spend them however you want.”

Let this be the yearning, the taking the placing, the spending… for each of us seeking You out this weekend.

wondering how much it matters to You.  Would eating or not eating draw me nearer to You? Travelling more lightly make it easier to reach You?  I think I find You where I look for You basically – is that too simplistic?  You are everywhere and the Creator of everything so it doesn’t matter if I am lying on a blanket on the grass in the sun, reading the wisdom of the saints, or drawing, or writing, or eating… You provide all things and You are in all things.  I need only be present to contemplate You and Your forms.

We have started off with the  Night prayers:

[p.168] “I yearn to be held in the great hands of your heart – oh let them take me now. Into them I place the fragments, my life, and you, God – spend them however you want.”

Let this be the yearning, the taking the placing, the spending… for each of us seeking You out this weekend.